Back-to-school

Today is the back-to-school-day. I have mixed emotions about this: excited for the new challenge, for the idea of being classmates with your co-workers (riot! hahaha) and new learnings that will encourage and equip us in our Missionary work. But scared as well for I do not know if I can still cope up with the demands of studying again – memorization, paper works, oral and written exams. And besides, I still don’t know if I am able to finance myself for the next 3 years for this endeavor.

But if it’s the work of the Lord, if it is in His plan, then He will provide and make all things possible! I remembered my counselling session with Tito Gary 2 years ago about taking Masters in Theology. I was hesitant in taking it up coz I felt that it’s too deep for me, that I might not be able to understand it. I told him that if ever I would take up something like that, it should be related to my work in the kids ministry or about Catechesis. And 2 years after, this opportunity came. And what’s more exciting is that, it’s like in the office since you know everyone! (I can imagine the competitiveness that will emerge from each one of us… hmmm, interesting!)

And as I read the Scriptures this morning, I was struck with this verse in the First Reading:

“And God is able to provide you with every blessing in abundance, so that you may always have enough of everything and may provide in abundance for every good work.” – 2 Cor. 9:8

This Masters will be a big help in the ministry work that we are doing for the Lord. We are not taking this up for our own selves, but rather, to improve our work as Missionaries. It’s for the community and the people we serve. 3 years is long, but I just have to remember always why I am taking this Masters – that it is not about me, but it is all about the work of the Lord through me. And I know, that as long as I am doing His work, doing His will in my life, He will provide everything for me… with the promise of providing every blessing in abundance!

Leave a Reply

